The European Parliament approved recommendations on the “Eastern partnership”. The partner countries are reminded that membership of the EU program is not available

The European Parliament on 19 June adopted the recommendations of the EU Council, European Commission and high representative of the Union for foreign Affairs and security policy for the development of the program “Eastern partnership”. The text of the document published on the Parliament website.

In particular, the European Parliament recommended that the EU institutions “to emphasize that in accordance with article 49 of the Treaty on European Union any European state can apply for EU membership provided that it respects the values of human dignity, freedom, democracy, equality, the rule of law and human rights.”

“[The EU authorities recommended] to admit that, although accession is not envisaged in the framework of the “Eastern partnership” program can contribute to the process of gradual integration in the EU”, – the document says.

The European Parliament recalls that the entry into the EU a candidate country must bring its legislation into line with European and also meet the other membership criteria.

The European Parliament notes that “the Eastern partnership” must “be an attractive basis for cooperation and support this process in accordance with the principle of “more for more” to partner countries were involved in the process of reform and European integration”.

The authors of the resolution stressed that the countries of “Eastern partnership” demonstrate a willingness to cooperate, take on “more responsibility” and strive for closer integration with the European Union. In this regard, the resolution calls for current and future leaders of the EU institutions to shape “an ambitious agenda” for cooperation with partner countries.

Eastern partnership – the EU-funded project that exists since 2009. Its goal is the development of integration ties with six former Soviet countries: Azerbaijan, Armenia, Belarus, Georgia, Moldova and Ukraine. Three of these States – Ukraine, Moldova and Georgia – have urged Brussels to create an additional version of interactions for associated partners and announced its intention to the prospect of EU membership.

EU high representative for foreign Affairs and security policy Josep Borrell called Ukraine a key partner of the EU among the countries of “Eastern partnership”.

In may, the EU Council endorsed the conclusions on the policy of “Eastern partnership” for the period after 2020. The Council considers that the Eastern partnership should become more ambitious and flexible framework for cooperation with partner countries.

Ukraine’s aspiration for EU membership is enshrined in the Constitution.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


The EU supports the Belarusian people – Borrell

Vice-President of the European Commission, high representative of the Union for foreign Affairs and security policy Josep Borrell supported the demonstrators who took to the streets of Belarusian cities. About this he wrote in Twitter on Sunday, August 16. “Hundreds of thousands of Belarusians went out today on a peaceful demonstration, demanding the release of […]

Adviser to trump denies the media reports about the alleged intentions of the White house to meet with Putin before the election

Advisor to the President for national security Robert O’brien denied that the us President intends to meet with Russian President Vladimir Putin before the presidential elections in the United States. About it the adviser said in comments to NBC News on August 16. Earlier on Sunday, the channel, citing sources reported that trump was considering […]

Workers of two factories in Belarus, announced the strike Monday

Labor collectives of the plant “Belaruskali” and refinery “Naftan”, on August 16 announced that Monday, August 17, join the nationwide strike in Belarus, reported the news portal TUT.BY. The workers demanded to release all political prisoners and participants of peaceful demonstrations, the resignation of Alexander Lukashenko, the holding of fair and transparent elections, and investigations […]

Russia was seen paddy wagons and unmarked rooms, which were moving toward the border with Belarus – Conflict Intelligence Team

From Russia to the border with Belarus, according to eyewitnesses, moving cars similar to police cars, unmarked. About this in Facebook the evening of August 16, said the investigative group Conflict Intelligence Team (CIT). “The information about the transfer of personnel of Regardie towards Belarus seems to be confirmed”, – stated in the message. The […]